Stages of Practice

by admin2 on 2013/03/02

There are 5 stages of practice. We can also call them five stages of learning.

  • 1. Choreography. This is the first stage. The student only learns to remember the choreography of the routines. Memory of the movements and names of the moves can be used as a method for learning.
  • 2. Coordination. At this stage a sudent tries to put the movements into a logical coherent synthesis.
  • 3. Clarity and Energy. The body must be able to clearly show what the practitioner is trying to accomplish.
  • 4. Application. The student is applying the movements and techniques in his mind.
  • 5. Flow. All movements must flow while keeping all of the above principles.

Note: This is not the 5 levels of gongfu in Taiji. This is just the chronological stages of learning.

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

studentofmethod March 4, 2013 at 12:06 pm

May I ask what are the 5 levels of gongfu in Taiji?


Chen Zhonghua March 4, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Leave a Comment
Leave a comment on the content only. For admin issues, please click the "contact" button on the top left.

Previous post:

Next post: