What are the Three Pans of Taiji?

by Chen Zhonghua Taiji Academy on 2008/04/16

What are the Three Pans of Taiji?

  1. Upper Pan: Shoulders and Head section.
  2. Shoulders down and Kua above.
  3. Below the Kua.

About Chen Zhonghua Taiji Academy

Chen Style Taijiquan 19th generation disciple. International Standard Bearer of the Practical Method system of Hong Junsheng. Second generation master of Hunyuan Taiji. Been teaching internationally since 1985. Educated in the West with a Master's Degree in Education. Highly accomplished through the lineage of two great masters. Disciplined, precise and powerful. He teaches a complete system of taiji based on the principle of yin yang separation; indirect power as a core concept; movement and tranquility as the source of action. In both theory and practice, his taijiquan deals with the problems of double-heavy. He is a real treasure of the heritage of taijiquan.

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

charlie wishon February 16, 2016 at 12:30 am

Master Chen, what does pan mean ?


James Tam February 16, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Literally means “basin”. However, in Chinese martial arts, “pén” (盆) means a “section” (of the body) that is treated as one unit or structure. Typically, above (上), below (下), and middle (中) sections.


charlie wishon February 17, 2016 at 12:29 am

Thank you James !


Leave a Comment
Leave a comment on the content only. For admin issues, please click the "contact" button on the top left.

Previous post:

Next post: